Arlen Specter visits York

My first assignment today was to cover Senator Arlen Specter’s visit to York. This was Specter’s first visit since he switched parties in April.

I was interested in hearing what Sen. Specter had to say, his reasoning for making the switch. I was even more interested to hear what he had to say about his recent vote against the National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Amendment.

Thankfully, one of the local dems thanked Specter for his “no” vote on the amendment and asked him about how he will vote when Senator Feinstein reintroduces the assault weapons ban.

Specter surprised me by saying that back in 1994 he opposed the assault weapons ban because the studies showed so called assault weapons differed very little from repeating rifles (earned an A from me there) but continued on to say that he’d take  to take another look at it because of the “we’ve had a changing world on police deaths and the use of weapons against the police, and that was a big factor in my thinking on voting against the reciprocity allowing somebody from Wyoming to bring their gun into York.”

I just stood there in disbelief.  Obviously, the great old Senator never did any research about Pennsylvania’s concealed carry reciprocity laws. If he had, he would have known that PA already honors concealed carry permits from Wyoming, along with 23 other states.

So, I expect that now that Specter has bowed to not only Ed Rendell but President Obama and VP Biden, that he will continue to do half-assed research before voting and will become an even greater enemy of the Second Amendment than he was as a “moderate Republican.”

I still can’t fathom how these lawmakers can, in good conscious, flagrantly disregard the Constitution.  “the right of the people to bear arms, shall not be infringed” says nothing about my rights only pertaining while in my home state. As much as I dislike the federal government messing around with state rights, National Reciprocity needs to become federal law.  I believe that the Second Amendment is the only concealed carry permit I need and that my life, and the lives of my family, are worth no less when I travel out of state.

Leave a Reply

